Worth The Splurge? Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

IMG_1526

Both contouring and Charlotte Tilbury are massive in the beauty industry at the moment, so when the two combined it was bound to be a success. I picked up the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow on my birthday and have loved using it. It cost a pretty penny at £49, but I couldn’t resist the packaging. When I got home and had a look through my collection, I saw a potential budget dupe of this product, the Sleek Face Contour Kit, so thought I’d compare the two!

First off, Charlotte Tilbury wins hands down on the packaging, but for £6.49 for the Sleek one the packaging is a nice matte finish. But honestly, I sometimes get out the Filmstar Bronze and Glow and stare at it, because it is just so pretty. Both come with a full size mirror and the mirrors stay up when you’re not holding them, which is great for makeup on the go. You get 2g product in Charlotte Tilbury (16g for CT and 14g for Sleek) and you get an even amount of product so you’re less likely to run out of one instead of the other.

IMG_1519

Sleek on the left hand sides of the swatches, Charlotte Tilbury on the right.

As you can see from the swatches (all are one swipe) that the pigmentation on both is awesome. The Sleek bronze shade is completely matte, which I know some people prefer for contour, whereas the CT has a subtle shimmer to it. I find that the CT is far easier to blend, but with some patience the Sleek also blends out well. I also don’t think you can see the shimmer once it’s on, instead you see a healthy ‘glow’ to the skin, which I think looks more natural. You may also be able to notice that the Sleek one is slightly darker than the CT, which for some may be an issue. However, for those with darker skin, this will be an advantage, made even better still by the fact that there are a few shades of the Sleek one, so hopefully there will be one to suit. As there is only one of the CT one, those with darker skin tones are going to find this doesn’t work so well.

With the highlight shades, the CT one is more on the warm golden side, whereas the Sleek is a cool pink shade. I personally prefer the golden shade on my skin as I feel it’s more subtle on me, but both work well. Both can be used quite toned down, but can be ramped up easily for a more intense highlight it that’s your thing.

All in all, the CT is slightly easier to blend and works slightly better on my skin, as it’s paler and the highlight isn’t as intense. However, I think the Sleek version is a great alternative for those not willing to fork out the small fortune on the CT.

Have you tried both of these? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

10 thoughts on “Worth The Splurge? Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

    • LissyBeauty says:

      It is a bit strange, but it works really well on the skin. Plus, it means it can double as a bronzer to warm up the face which is great. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

  1. Apoorva says:

    Though the CT packaging is something to die for, the Sleek kit looks more that will suit the mortal budget I live by. Thanks for the review 🙂

  2. Arianne says:

    they look nice, but honestly, I would just as well by a more affordable one.. the only reason I have the NARS Virtual Domination cheek palette was because it was gifted to me for Christmas..

Leave a Reply

