Worth the Hype? NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

IMG_1523

 

Do you ever hear a name of a product that gets better with every word you read? When I saw a post about the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation, I had one of those moments where the heavens open and angels start singing. When I heard that it was also full coverage, I couldn’t get this in my collection fast enough. On my birthday last month, I picked this up and have been testing this out to give you guys my thoughts on it.

This retails for £32 and I was colour matched to the shade Mont Blanc, which is a light shade with a slightly yellow-y undertone to it, which works for my skin. When I first pumped out this foundation I was so surprised at the consistency. It was quite watery and I didn’t see how the coverage would be that good because of this. The first time I used it, I completely ignored the advice of the lady at the counter (like a moron) and used a brush, rather my fingers. It worked okay, but it looked a bit cakey and never properly set into the skin. Plus, by the end of the day I was a oily horrible mess and removed my makeup the second I got in from work, which I almost never do. I tried it again the following day with a primer, didn’t work, tried with a powder over the top the next day, didn’t work and I was almost about to give up entirely.

Before throwing in the towel, I went onto the interwebs to try and find how best to apply it and found that it’s recommended you use your fingers to warm up the product and then pat it into the skin. It’s also recommended you use a primer and a powder over the top. I tried this and it did work pretty well. You can see below the change, and it did a great job at covering, but I personally wouldn’t class it as full coverage as you can still see some spots and some hyper-pigmentation. But, I was happy with the coverage.

IMG_1511Ignore the puffy eyes, my eyes had a bad fight with some contacts the day before and hadn’t quite calmed down yet!

As you can see, it’s not necessarily a luminous foundation. I found it to be quite a matte foundation when first applied, but not in a dull looking way, if that makes sense? I wore this all day doing what the interwebs had said to do, and I found it looked okay at the end of the day, but around my skin and nose it had completely rubbed off and had started to separate on the oilier parts of my face, despite powdering. I’d also used this with Mac Pro Longwear Concealer and it got slightly cakey and gross looking by the end of the day. I hear you’re only ‘supposed’ to use NARS Radiant Creamy concealer, which I have since tried and it’s better, but still not amazing.

All in all, this foundation promises three things: All day wear, luminous finish and weightless-ness. On the latter, it does deliver for the most part but you can feel it towards the end of the day in terms of the oily-ness. The other two aspects I personally feel it does not fulfil those, which is a massive shame for me, as I so wanted to love this foundation. Although, it’s not that I dislike this foundation, it was just such a let down in what I hoped it would be and what it had been hyped up to be. I have so many drug store alternative that I love more than this, but I will get some use out of it, like on good skin days and lazy days as the coverage is good and the wear is decent. For longer wear with awesome coverage, I’ll stick to my Estee Lauder Double Wear!

Have you tried this? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

 

2 thoughts on “Worth the Hype? NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

  1. Arianne says:

    I’ve obtained a sample from them and this was actually better for me than the NARS Sheer Glow. However, it’s still not good enough for me to actually spend money on it. I agree about it not settling in. It looks like I’m wearing makeup and I don’t like that.

Leave a Reply

