Review & Swatches: MUA Lip Lacquers

IMG_1551

Liquid lipsticks are everywhere at the moment, and these little beauties have been around for a while. I had one already, but the other day I went a tad cray on MUA’s website and bought 8 more! I now have all but one, which is called Dare and I really wanted that one, which is just typical, isn’t it? However, I still have loads of pretty colours that I wanted to share swatches and my thoughts about.

All in all, there are 10 colours. They are super pigmented and go on really easily. I find these take about a minute to dry properly and you have to be careful not to put your lips together as they can become a bit patchy. My lips are really dry at the moment, and I have to be careful when to use these, as they just sit on the lips if they’re dry, which is something to bare in mind if you are thinking of picking these up and you regularly have dry lips. If you do, it’s best to exfoliate and moisturise your lips before application, which goes for all liquid lipsticks!

IMG_1547

 

Left to right: Reckless, Atomic, Kooky, Funk, Serene, Aflush, Criminal, Tranquility, and Halcyon.

If your lips are dry, after a few hours these are going to flake off, like literal chunks of product will fall off your lips, which is not a good look on anyone! However, if you’ve taken necessary precautions i.e. exfoliation and moisturise then you should be fine. I’ve worn Halcyon over a day and it lasts pretty well, but can fade after eating. For the other colours, I haven’t worn them long enough to test them, but I will report back if I find any issues.

As for the colours, you have every type of colour you could want. You have Reckless – a deep red with pink undertones, Atomic – a bright full on orange colour, Kooky – a really interesting purple-berry colour, Funk – my absolute favourite colour, deep pink colour which is so pretty, Serene – a really light pink which reminds me a bit of Anastasia Beverly Hills liquid lipstick in Milkshake, Aflush – a lighter version of Funk which is a light magenta colour, Criminal – a neon pink which is so bold I don’t think I could pull it off, Tranquility – a nude brown colour which is a tad pale on me and washes me out, and Halcyon – a nude pink with a slightly coral undertone to it when I wear it.

That’s it for this post. I would highly recommend these, but would encourage you to exfoliate and use a balm beforehand. These are only £3 and when you take into account how expensive others are on the market, this is probably a great starting point to see how you get on with liquid lipsticks.

Have you tried these? What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

4 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: MUA Lip Lacquers

Leave a Reply

