Review & Swatches: Makeup Geek Eyeshadows

IMG_1477

I’ve had my eye on Makeup Geek eyeshadows for so so long, the other day when I was browsing the website I decided to go for it. I went a little cray and ended up buying 17 eyeshadows in one go (seriously no self-control!). For 17 eyeshadows, it came to £83 (including shipping) and then ended up paying £22 in custom taxes when it arrived. Each one therefore came to about £6 each, which isn’t too bad when you consider MAC eyeshadows refill pans are £10 each.

IMG_1476

I went for a mixture of mattes, shimmers, satins and three of the new foiled eyeshadows. As I bought so many, I think this post would be a dissertation if I went through each one, so I’ll pick out my must-haves and my least favourites (although all are lovely). First up, Bling which is described as a frosted slightly warm ivory and makes a great highlight shade, although a light hand can be needed as it can come off really strong otherwise. Next up, Unexpected which is described as a matte pale pink brown. I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I do, but as I love pinky-purple eye looks this makes a wonderful transition colour.

IMG_1474

Another wonderful transition colour is Bitten, which was actually an accidental purchase, and is described as a matte deep maroon red. When I do a darker look, this is great to blend out shadows. The other day I did a look using Showtime and used Bitten to blend it out and it was so so pretty. A next favourite is Homecoming, a medium brown with gold shimmer which reminds me of Urban Decay Smog which I love.

I thought I’d discuss the new release Foiled eyeshadows separately, as these could do with a post all to themselves. These shadows, of which I have Grandstand – a medium rose gold with slight taupe undertones, Mesmerized – deep medium taupe with strong purple undertones, and Showtime – a rusty brown with warm undertones, are highly pigmented shadows that apply beautifully to the eye. These feel almost creamy and just add that little something extra to an eye look. I now want them all!

Have you tried these shadows? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

15 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Makeup Geek Eyeshadows

  1. Amy says:

    I’ve never heard of this brand, is it American? Although I am yet to own any, I am liking the pinky/brown shades too and also brown/grey/silver tone eyeshadows. x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Yep, it is, by the YouTuber Marlena (Makeup Geek). They’ve been out for quite a while, but only just bought some. 🙂 They’re all lovely, there’s so many more I want, too!

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

  2. Alexis Ruiz says:

    I wish I could have seen the look you were made! I’m glad you picked up some of their foil eye shadows, I’ve been meaning to try Makeup Geek for a long time now! Have you tried colourpop?

    • LissyBeauty says:

      I was thinking of doing a makeup tutorial/look post type thing on it, so might try and recreate it. 🙂 I’d really recommend trying them. I haven’t tried ColourPop yet as they don’t ship to the UK, but as soon as they do I’m placing an order! Have you tried ColourPop?

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

      • Alexis Ruiz says:

        Your welcome Lissy! And no I ordered from them and my package should be coming tmr or Friday! I’ve just heard tons of good reviews! Hopefully the ship to the UK soon xoxo

Leave a Reply

