First Impressions: MUA Undress Your Skin Foundation

IMG_1438

I’m a foundation hoarder. There is nothing I like more than trying a new foundation. Even if I am using one I love, I still can’t help a little shop for something potentially even better. The newest addition to my little large foundation stash is the MUA Undress Your Skin Illuminating Foundation in Porcelain. I remember hearing about this product ages ago and it being a really good light foundation, which is what I was after for those days where I don’t want too much makeup on. It was really affordable too, as it was only £5 for 30ml.

When I got this home, my heart sank a little when I read the back and it had my dreaded word when it comes to foundation – “glitter”. I immediately thought of the Revlon Photoready which is a great foundation for photos/filming, but you will look like Edward Cullen if you venture outside. As I wanted something to wear for everyday use, this didn’t sound too promising. However, like my mum always says “Don’t judge a book by its cover” so I gave it a shot. When I first opened this, I got product everywhere. Honestly, it was like a foundation explosion, which was a nightmare to clean up. I’m not sure if my nozzle was broken, but every time I open it product pours out so I have to be really careful.

IMG_1440

 

Excuse the wet hair again, I was in the process of getting ready for work!

Back to first impressions, and I wasn’t going to let this crisis stop me from trying this foundation, so once I cleaned up I gave it another shot. No disasters this time, but it looked like a really pale colour, but hoped I could make it work. When I applied it, I was really struck by how thick this foundation was and difficult to blend into the skin. It wasn’t light at all but the coverage was okay. For an illuminating foundation, I was expecting to look like Jennifer Lopez or something (I wish), but if anything this made by skin look duller than it did before with no makeup! No amount of further blending did anything to remedy this, and even a further attempt the next day with less product didn’t make a difference.

You can see in the picture above that it looks quite “flat” on my skin, and I know that’s without Bronzer and Blush, but normally I don’t look quite that flat even with matte foundations. However, one plus is that I looked at my face in various different lights and didn’t notice even the tiniest fleck on glitter! I might have looked “flatter” than normal because the shade was too light, but compared to my other foundation shades there’s not much difference when it was on. The lasting power was really good but it did dry out the drier sections of my skin and appear to separate ever so slightly around my oilier t-zone by the end of the day.

All in all, I wasn’t massively impressed with this foundation, but for the price it wasn’t bad. As I have combination skin and it didn’t work brilliantly for either my dry or oily areas, I can’t imagine this foundation being all that great for those with combination skin like myself. There also aren’t that made shades which might be an issue for some. To be honest, most foundations I’m trying at the moment are being compared to my new favourite Maybelline foundation, so nothing else is matching up!

Have you tried this foundation? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: MUA Undress Your Skin Foundation

Leave a Reply

