Review: The Body Shop Bouncy Sleeping Mask

IMG_1436

Today’s post is a review on a product that has been raved about recently. I first heard about this product from FleurDeForce’s recent night time skincare routine, and as I love Body Shop products, I knew I wanted to give this a go. On the website, this is described as:

“Our new youth-enhancing sleeping mask is enriched with Edelweiss stem cells. It is designed to be left on overnight to sink in while you sleep, leaving skin feeling bouncier and replenished.”

First off, this is pretty expensive stuff, or at least I thought so. After paying £22 for a mask I was hoping for great things. I got it home, opened the box and I was very impressed with the packaging. It comes in this green glass pot with a white lid, which made the whole product feel like it was very luxurious. Inside the box, there was this little spatula type arrangement, which was a bit strange at first but turned out to be very handy. On opening the lid, it looks like your bog standard cream, but when you touch it, it feels like jelly and is very, well, bouncy! I had no end of fun poking this because I’m clearly a big child.

FullSizeRender

I’ve never used a sleeping mask before, so I wasn’t necessarily sure what to expect in terms of the feel on the skin. As this product is quite ‘bouncy’, when you use the spatula to put a bit on your fingers, it feels really strange and almost springy when you try to spread it out. The first thing that came to mind for me is the movie Flubber, which always makes me chuckle when I use it. While this was really fun, I did wonder how this would feel on the skin and if it would ‘sink in’ at all. However, once you work it into the skin, it feels like any other night cream. It felt lightweight on the skin, which is a plus for me as I think there’s nothing worse than going to sleep feeling like your face is covered in product. The smell was a tad strange, however I couldn’t place the smell, but it didn’t linger on the skin so I didn’t mind that.

It made my skin feel immediately more moisturised, but when I woke up in the morning my skin felt as soft as a baby’s bum. Previously, with any product I used it would never ever last until the morning and my skin would feel no different at all. But not with this! My skin felt supple and it looked so much brighter. After using this for a few weeks, my acne scars have also faded which was unexpected. Due to the extra moisture from using this mask, my makeup goes on smother and the moisture lasts all day. But more impressively than all that – it hasn’t broken me out! I find that’s so rare for me when I try something new as my skin can be very fickle, so that was a massive plus.

I’ve definitely found a holy grail product here, and I don’t think I’ve ever used a skincare product where I’ve noticed such a difference in my skin. While £22 is quite steep, you only need the smallest amount and it doesn’t even look like I’ve touched mine, even though I’ve used in everyday for a few weeks.

Have you tried this? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

11 thoughts on “Review: The Body Shop Bouncy Sleeping Mask

  1. Jade Amber says:

    Lovely post and this sounds amazing! A lot of people seem to talk about skincare products from the Body Shop and rave about them, I think I may get something from their skincare range next time I’m in there. x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      It is really awesome and I think worth the price. I have a feeling it will last me absolutely ages! Let me know if you try it and what you think. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      It takes sort of half an hour or so to properly sink in, but it doesn’t feel gross or heavy on the skin. If it hasn’t sunk in, it’s not off-putting whilst you sleep, which is great. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

