Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express vs Bourjois 1 Seconde Volume

IMG_1394

I love trying new mascaras so I always have too many lying about. I was debating which mascara to apply one morning and noticed that these two mascaras, Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express in 100% Black and Bourjois 1 Second Volume in Ultra Black, promise pretty similar things. They promise volume quickly with an ultra black finish. But, although they promise similar things, how do you they compare? I wore each one on different eyes on one day to see how they lasted and properly compare the two – here are my thoughts!

First up, packaging. They look quite different, Maybelline is bright yellow whilst the Bourjois one is in this sleek black packaging, which I much prefer. Next up, the brushes – again both are quite different. The Maybelline brush is a lot of small little hair-like bristles whilst the Bourjois one is a plastic brush with small bristles.

IMG_1391

 

So, as you can see above, not only is the packaging and brush different but the look they give the lashes is also completely different. The Maybelline one gives a far more natural look to the lashes, but I don’t think it does a lot of volume or length in terms of anything dramatic. It also doesn’t hold a curl as well as the Bourjois. The Bourjois one creates volume and length, whilst holding an awesome curl. You can also see the Bourjois one appears to look darker, but that might be due to the volume. So far, Bourjois is well in the lead – now onto the lasting power.

After a few hours, both had shed under my eyes. As you can see, I have quite long lashes so my bottom lashes are almost always in contact with my face so the product does fall down onto my face with any mascara, so this wasn’t surprising. However, a quick swipe under my eyes got rid of the shedding under my eyes for both mascaras, so that’s all good. By the end of the day, these both looked almost the same as when I left the house which I love with mascara. In terms of removal, the Maybelline comes off much quicker than the Bourjois, which is a plus as I don’t like having to scrub at my eyes to remove eye makeup (but who does?).

All in all, while the description might lead you to believe these two mascaras do similar jobs, in terms of, well, almost everything these are completely different! So much so, I looked so strange walking around with my mascara like this (although I doubt many people really noticed unless your a beauty nerd like me). I also much much prefer the Bourjois to the Maybelline, and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Have you tried either of these? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express vs Bourjois 1 Seconde Volume

    • LissyBeauty says:

      I really liked it too, then got the Bourjois one and used it loads. Doing this post and seeing them side to side made me like the Bourjois one even more! Let me know if you get it and what you think. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      I really struggle with that to, mainly because of my lower lashes I think. The Bourjois one doesn’t smudge as bad as the Maybelline one, so that might be one to try. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

