My Makeup Starter Kit

IMG_1297

Before Christmas, I asked my sister (who never wears makeup) if she would like me to buy her some makeup in a sort of “makeup starter kit” type arrangement. She said no as she “couldn’t be bothered with makeup”, haha! But, it got me thinking about what products I would recommend to people just starting out in makeup which led to the inspiration for this post. I’ve put together my favourite drugstore products that I would highly recommend to those starting out. Hope you enjoy!

Base

Getting a good base is pretty much essential (at least to me) but when you’re just starting out you don’t want anything too heavy. So, I picked Rimmel Match Perfection, as this is a great light foundation with pretty good coverage. I find the last time with this is also good. I then added the Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer. This is great for under the eyes at highlighting any darkness that may be under there. Finally, something I forgot to add in the picture, is Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Transparent. This stuff is awesome at setting foundation and keeping any oil at bay. I find with the Match Perfection, this step is essential as the foundation doesn’t dry all that quickly.

Blush

This is a product that I don’t think gets enough love on this blog which is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Soft Colour Blush in Santa Rose. This is such a pretty colour that I think would suit most people. It looks a bit bright in the pan, but it just the right amount of colour. Love it!

IMG_1292

Eyes

The next step for me is eyebrows, for which I picked the I Heart Makeup I Tint My Brows in Medium. This is a one step product for filling in brows and holding them in place and it’s only £1.99, bargain! Next for eyeshadows, I had two picks. I chose the MUA Eyeshadow Palette in Undress Me Too, which is a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 2 with some really pretty colours in it. I also chose the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze which is a really pretty colour that stays put all day. There are so many pretty colours in this line and I’d recommend all of them! The final eye product is the Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara. Maybelline can do no wrong (almost) when it comes to mascara, and this is one of my favourites. It gives a nice full look to the lashes.

Lips

For me, this was really easy to chose. I picked the Collection Lip Cream in Angel Delight which is an absolute steal at £2.99. It’s a gorgeous pinky-brown nude matte colour that lasts all day and doesn’t dry out the lips. The applicator also allows for precise application.

Brushes

I felt the Real Techniques brushes required a honourable mention in this post as they’re the best drugstore brushes that I know of. You can’t go wrong with them and they’re sometimes on sale on Amazon or on 3 for 2 at Boots. I’d highly recommend these if you’re starting out.

That’s it for my Makeup Starter Kit! What products would you recommend to those just starting out?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

 

4 thoughts on “My Makeup Starter Kit

Leave a Reply

