My Top Beauty Products of 2014

IMG_1159 I was sat there doing my makeup the other day and thought of what products I had loved during the year. I thought it would be interesting to put together a post about it. Hope you enjoy!

Primer

I chose Benefit Porefessional Primer. This was a pretty easy choice, as I haven’t tried many primers that I actually like. This one is pretty good, evens out the pores a bit (not too much), controls any oil and makes my foundation last longer. It feels smooth on the skin and doesn’t feel heavy.

Foundation

I chose Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation. This is a more recent discovery but has easily become my favourite foundation. The coverage is a medium coverage and once this is on, it’s not going anywhere. It can be a pain to be take off, but I think that’s more than worth it.

Concealer

I chose Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Concealer. I love this under the eyes as the coverage is good but it just seems to lighten up the under eye area which is great for those undereye bags! I’ve heard that they may be discontinuing this, and that makes me very sad. I’ll have to stock up while I can.

Powder

An old classic is what I chose for powder; Rimmel Stay Matte. There’s nothing else that I trust to keep me oil free all day and not look like I’m wearing a lot of powder. And for £3.99, what’s more to love?

Bronzer

This was such an easy choice for me; Body Shop Honey Bronzer. My look does not feel complete without this product, and it’s now as necessary for me as something like mascara. This made me not feel scared of bronzer. It’s not muddy or orange, it’s just a light bronzer that suits my skin perfectly. Absolutely love this product!

Blush

This was a harder choice, and took me quite a while. After long deliberation, I’ve included the product that I’ve used most of all which is the Makeup Revolution Cream Blush in Rose Cream. The pigmentation is brilliant and it lasts all day which can be rare for a cream blush. Plus, for £1.50, it’s a great little product.

Top 2014 Collage

Eyebrows

For this, I chose Soap and Glory’s Brow Archery. I love this product as it is so quick to use in the mornings to create a precise clean look.  The only downside is the shade selection, but I find the Brownie Points shade works for my brows.

Eyeshadow

For me, this was quite an easy choice as most days this is what I’ll wear on my eyes; Maybelline Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze. It’s pigmented and with a quick swipe and a blend, you’re ready to go. Love these little pots.

Eyeliner

This was a tough one, but I went with Soap and Glory Supercat Liner. I’ve gotten quite good at the old winged liner and this is my favourite to use to get the perfect cat eye. It’s super black and the tip has just the right firmness (hehe) to get a clean look. Love this!

Mascara

The product I’ve used the most of in terms of mascara; Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express 100% Black. This gives a great natural look to the eyelashes and doesn’t shed on me. I love it!

Lip Product

If you’ve ever seen my Lipstick Collection Post, you’ll know this was always going to be a tough choice. I ended up going with a product I’ve actually used up completely! I chose the Collection Lip Cream in Angel Delight. I’m sure you’d be able to guess by the fact that I’ve completely used it up, but this product is awesome. It’s a great every day matte colour. For £3, you can’t go wrong!

Brush

I thought this was worthy of an honourable mention, the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, as I’ve used it pretty much every day since I got it last Christmas. It makes blending my foundation so easy and quick, and it creates an airbrushed look. I love all my Real Techniques brushes, so this was quite a difficult choice!

That’s it for my round up of my favourite beauty products of 2014. What were your favourites products last year?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

4 thoughts on “My Top Beauty Products of 2014

Leave a Reply

