My Christmas Haul


Christmas Haul I feel like I’m really late with this post, but I thought this would be something you’d all like to see anyway; what I got for Christmas! This post is only going to focus on the beauty products, as I thought that would be more interesting for you guys. So, without further ado, onto the products!

Christmas Haul Collage

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

I remember back in ‘my youth’ using those little crappy sponges to apply my foundation and I think I was forever mentally scarred by the experience. I’ve seen the beauty blender around, but they’re quite pricey and for something I might not like it felt like too much of a gamble. So, I saw this Real Techniques version and thought I’d give it a shot so added it to my Christmas list. I’ve been using it for a while now and I really like it. It makes my foundation blend into the skin much nicer and it looks more natural. It takes longer than my normal method, the Expert Face Brush, but it doesn’t take forever and a day. I also like that you can use it for all over the face and for concealing using the more point end.

Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow

I’m quite pale, so finding a contour that doesn’t look too dark on me can be difficult. I remembered this product ages ago from PixiWoo videos and thought I’d give it a shot. It’s a sort of light brown colour and looks a little strange in the pot. However, applied to the skin, it gives either a really subtle contour if that’s what you’re going for, or a strong contour if you applied more of it. It’s really natural looking and it’s not orange at all. The pigmentation is great and it blends so easily. Love it!

Charlotte Tilbury Colour-Coded Eyeshadows in Dolce Vita

When I opened this present, I squealed with excitement. I so wanted to try Charlotte Tilbury products, and I have not been disappointed at all by this little palette. The packaging is, naturally, stunning and the pigmentation of this shadows on the eyes is fabulous (my pictures just don’t do them justice). They blend really easily and don’t crease on me at all, even without a primer. The colours last all day and used all together create such a pretty look. I will definitely be adding to my collection!

Charlotte Tilbury Eyeshadow Swatches

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette

I feel like everyone and their dog has heard of this little beauty, and I’ve wanted it for so long but couldn’t justify the price. So, I added to my Christmas list and hoped Santa was feeling generous… and he was! The packaging on this product is so pretty and the blushes are gorgeous. They look great on the skin and give a nice glow. I’ve used nothing but this palette since I got it. However, I still don’t think even after using it that I personally could justify the price of this palette, but for a treat at a special time of year, it’s definitely a good choice!

Hourglass Swatches

Marc Jacobs Skyliner 7-piece Petite Collection

This was a cheeky present I got myself. Unfortunately, in the UK we aren’t able to get our hands on Marc Jacobs Beauty products all that easily, so for this little gem I had to buy online from Sephora and pay quite a bit of tax and shipping. That meant this little collection set me back £51, which is pretty steep, but just look at how pretty it is! The pigmentation on all these coloured eyeliners is amazing and they’re so creamy. But don’t let that fool you, once these are on, they’re on! The staying power is great and they don’t fade when they’re on, either. Plus, look at that packaging? It almost doesn’t even matter if they’re good or not! Love these.

Marc Jacobs Swatches_Fotor

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Bridgette

It wasn’t until writing this post that I forgot to take pictures of a swatch of this! As it’s dark a lot of the time now on weekdays, a swatch wasn’t possible. However, just give this a quick google and the colour will pop up really quickly. It’s a gorgeous nude-y-coral that I love. The formulation of these is great and don’t dry my lips out too much (but that’s also probably due to the time of year). This is so creamy and the pigmentation is great, one swipe and you’re done (sort of, if you have a steady hand anyway). I loved this so much, I bought myself two more, which will be coming up in a post soon!

Elis Faas Hot Lips in L406

Again, no swatch! Sorry about that, but again a quick google and this little beauty will pop up. The packaging on this is so interesting, it looks almost like a long silver bullet, which I think is quite cool. The colour of this is absolutely beautiful, a light berry colour, and wears so nicely you even forget it’s on. I will definitely be buying more Elis Faas lip products, that’s for sure.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow Pomade in Medium Brown

My love for eyebrow products is no secret on this blog, so a brow product naturally had to be on my Christmas list. If you think of high end products and brows, this is the first brand that pops into a lot of people’s heads. I’ve really wanted to try their products, so thought I’d start with that raved about product the Dip Brow Pomade. The pigmentation is amazing (can look a bit scouse-brow with a heavy hand) but I’ve used nothing put this product since I first got it and I’m super impressed. The Brow Wiz is next on the list!

And that’s all the beauty products I got for Christmas. I hope you enjoyed it!

What did you get for Christmas?

Thanks for reading.

Alicia x

14 thoughts on “My Christmas Haul

    • LissyBeauty says:

      I think it’s different to a brush in that it’s used damp and that seems to make it blend into the skin differently, lighter and more natural. In terms of other sponges, I’m not sure how different it would be. The shape might be something unique due to the flat edge and the pointy end, but like I say, it’s the first sponge I’ve used in a very long time so I couldn’t properly compare! I’d say it’s definitely worth a try if you haven’t tried a similar shaped sponge, but if you’ve tried the beauty blender or something similar, it might not be worth it. Could be worth a shot though?

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

      • LissyBeauty says:

        That’s alright. 🙂 I’d definitely recommend giving it a go. It’s not too bad a price, and definitely better than trying the beauty blender which is quite a bit more expensive and could end up not liking it.

        Alicia x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Its gorgeous, isn’t it? So worth the tax and shipping! I’ve only used a few of the colours at the moment, but can’t wait to play around with them.

      I know, it’s a bit of a weird one! I just used the flat edge, put dots of foundation on my face and pat the sponge on my face until it’s all blended. It works pretty well, but the sensation of using a damp sponge on your face to put foundation on is really odd! Haha.

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

