Things I’m Thankful For

image

Things have been a little quiet recently on here, and I’ll be honest and say it’s because I just didn’t want to post. I’ve gotten to the point that I’ve lost my blogging mojo and if anyone mentions “makeup” I just don’t feel the way I felt about it when I first started this blog. I’m not sure if it’s because of the blog, but as this is mainly a beauty blog, I didn’t want to force posts out because I felt I had to. The posts wouldn’t be good and you guys wouldn’t like reading them. So, for at least a little while, the main focus of this blog is going to shift slightly, to mainly more lifestyle/fashion posts, as these have become something I prefer writing about. I hope that’s okay with you guys!

On to the actual post now, and I don’t know about you guys, but I feel that in the Christmas period I focus quite a lot on the presents. I focus more on the material things I buy other people or that I receive and that probably isn’t the main reason behind Christmas. I’m not a religious person, so Jesus doesn’t spring to mind either, but what does is spending time with my family. It got me thinking about what I’m thankful for in my life, and I thought I’d share these things with you. I hope you enjoy!

  1. I have a roof over my head and food on the table. There are so many people out there at this time of year that don’t have these things and that Christmas is just enough time of year, another struggle.
  2. I have a loving family that are always there for me. I work with so many clients that don’t have this support network, and don’t have a whole lot of people rooting for them, other than the team I work as a part of. At this time of the year, many of them struggle as it’s hard for them to be reminded of this.
  3. I’m in good health. There are a lot of people that are ill and may not make it to Christmas day, or people that have already passed.
  4. I have a good job that means I don’t have to particularly worry about money. For some, Christmas is quite a stressful time as it can be expensive and they don’t have a lot of money. I know it’s not about presents, but there is definitely pressure about how many presents someone receives.
  5. I have a degree that I feel proud of. So many people don’t get a chance to have an education, even a basic education, and move forwards with their lives. Or, they have special learning needs that were never properly addressed at school.
  6. The world is my oyster. I often sit there frustrated at certain things and forget that I could do whatever I wanted, could do any job I wanted, or travel any where I wanted. Like the quote says “If you don’t like where you are, change it, you are not a tree.”

So, that’s just a few things I’m thankful for, I could probably whittle on all day! I don’t think buying presents for people is wrong, or that being happy you receive presents is a bad thing. It just occured to me the other day that the best thing about Christmas is spending time with your family, which doesn’t happen as often as we’d all like.

What are you thankful for?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

2 thoughts on “Things I’m Thankful For

  1. Arianne says:

    Sometimes it’s difficult to focus on the positive and be thankful for what I have… I like this post because it forces me to look at the good things in life. I have a roof over my head as well and I live comfortable enough that I don’t feel miserable. I have two jobs, and even though I feel exhausted lately, I’m thankful I don’t have to stress so much about how I will pay my bills…

    and even if I don’t have blood family I can call my own anymore, I have friends that became my family who really cares.

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Totally agree with you. There are times it feels like everything is negative, but when you take a closer look at things, it’s actually pretty good, just a bad patch! 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

