Pay Day Haul


image
Ah, pay day. Easily my favourite day of the month. Although, I’m pretty sure my bank account doesn’t agree with me when it comes to my little pay day sprees. This month was no different (sorry, bank account!) and I went on my usual little Boots hunt! I thought I’d share with you lovely lot what I’ve been buying (again).

Bourjois Volume 1 Second Ultra Black Mascara £9.99
This mascara had me more hooked with each word! Volume? 1 second? Ultra black? Sold! Bourjois is a brand I’ve dabbled in, but never tried their mascaras, so after reading a blog post about this little guy, I picked it up. I’ve used it a few times now, and it’s pretty good. Nothing to write home about, but I’ll probably use it all up!

Masque Bar Brightening Sheet Mask £9.99
Unlike my normal purchases, I’d heard nothing about this brand. But, I love a good brightening mask and I’ve never tried a sheet mask, so decided to give this a whirl. I used it the first night I got it, and nearly wee’d myself with laughter as I looked like some sort of serial killer. The second thing I noticed was the smell, it was like a vinegar sort of smell, not all that nice. I kept it on for about 25 mins and took it off, and my skin looked pretty terrible. Really red and quite angry looking. The next day I had a few monster spots, too! Not a good impulse buy. As a side note, I have quite sensitive skin, so this did not work for me, but if you’re not plagued by stroppy skin, you may like this!

Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm £3.69
As it turns out, I got this product confused with another one that I’ve seen raved about, the Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm. However, I quite liked this lip balm, it smelt nice and felt nice on the lips. I didn’t feel like it did all that much, but for a ‘day’ lip balm, I can’t complain.

image

Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation in Ivory Nude £29.50
After trying the sample I featured in a previous post, I knew it wouldn’t be long before this little beauty made it into my collection. This is now easily my holy grail foundation, hands down. I love this stuff! It has a medium coverage with a demi-matte finish that does honestly last all day. The colour is spot on for me, too! The packaging is also really nice, as it comes in a lovely glass bottle. The only downside is it doesn’t come with a pump, but I can live with that.

Barry M Nail Polish in Almond £3.99
After the success of my first Barry M nail polish purchase, I decided to pick up another one. I saw this colour on Instagram and loved it! I’ve been looking for a nice nude colour for ages, and this hasn’t disappointed. The colour is really opaque and lasts ages. The gelly hi-shine finish is also great and looks really sleek on the nails. If you have any other Barry M shade suggestions, send them my way! 🙂

That’s it for this Pay Day Haul. No doubt there will probably be another haul post this month as I have no self control. However, I’ve been buying Christmas presents instead, which I love doing! Makes me feel happy buying other people things. I hope you all have a lovely month and let me know if you went on a pay day spree!

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

Leave a Reply

