Review: VO5 Plump It Up Range

image

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a fringe and really short layers. But, I’m a girl and we all need a little change in the hair department at some point. So, I’m growing out my fringe (thank god for bobby pins, that’s all I’m sayin’) and my layers, my hair has started to get a look a bit weighed down and ‘meh’. To get some much needed volume in my hair, I took some advice from EssieButton and purchased the Vo5 Plump it Up Weightless Mousse and Vo5 Give me Texture Instant Oomph Powder. As it was 3 for 2, I also got the Vo5 Plump it Up Amplifying Blow Dry Lotion. I’ve been using these for a few weeks now, so I thought I’d give you my opinion.

Vo5 Plump It Up Weightless Mousse £4.99

The thought of a mousse kinda made me cringe, but when I saw EssieButton’s video I figured I’d give it a shot. I first used it the next day, and it was really fun as it was like whipped cream (easily amused, I guess? Haha). It also smelt pretty good too. I ran it through my hair and worked some into my roots. It felt a bit sticky when it was wet, but once I dried it through with my hair upside down it was all good. The volume this gave me was absolutely awesome, and what really impressed me was that it lasted all day, and into the next day. As my hair is quite fine, most volume products only work for a couple of hours at most, so this made it easily into my list of favourite hair products. What I also liked was that it has heat defence built in, so it protected my hair whilst blow drying as well as any other heated tool you apply afterwards.

Vo5 Plump it Up Amplifying Blow Dry Lotion £4.99

I didn’t realised until writing this post but the word “lotion” in this product name is a bit weird, as it’s not a lotion in my opinion, more a liquidy type arrangement. I’m sure there’s a method behind the madness! Anyway, much like the first product, this gave me awesome volume for a long time; no mean feat with my hair. What I liked most about this product was that it made me hair really smooth and sleek. I also used this before curling my hair yesterday, and this product held my style all day, which with my hair never normally happens. On a day to day basis, this is the product I reach for more often as I find it lighter in my hair. The mousse isn’t really heavy, but you know it’s there which for a night out or special occasion would be fine. That is just me though, as I’m not a massive fan of feeling hair products in my hair once it’s dry. How I use this product is squirt some in my hand and run it through my hair, as spraying this directly on the hair makes it harder to distribute evenly.

image

Vo5 Give me Texture Instant Oomph Powder £4.99

This isn’t part of the Plump it Up range, but as it is supposed to give you volume, I cheekily included it in this post! I remember seeing this a while back and thinking it was a strange concept. I was unsure about how it would work, so sort of walked past without a second thought. When I saw EssieButton’s video and saw her advice on how to apply this (rub into hands and work into roots) I thought I’d stop being cynical and give it a go (don’t know until you try, right?). It’s definitely a different experience, but actually really quick and easy to use actually. The first time I used this, I looked in my mirror and laughed my butt off, as I looked like I had an afro! Honestly, the ‘Oomph’ from just a small amount of this powder was crazy. However, a quick brush through and it didn’t look quite as crazy (thank the lord)! I really enjoy using this, and I have taken more of EssieButton’s advice and taken this in my handbag for use on my go when my hair is looking a little flat. Works a treat!

All in all, I’m really impressed with this range. Normally I find volumising products quite lack lustre, but I was so happy when I found these products actually worked. As my hair grows longer and all one length, these products will be invaluable in making my hair have a bit of oomph and texture, which it will probably desperately need!

Have you tried these, if so what were your thoughts? Any other volumising products you’d recommend?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

2 thoughts on “Review: VO5 Plump It Up Range

Leave a Reply

