My Foundation Collection

image
Some of you may remember a while back I did a post about my lipstick collection, so today I wanted to share with you all my foundation collection, as I have a fair few. Foundation is something I’m always experimenting with, as I always feel that the base is one of the most important parts of a makeup look for me. On to my collection!

Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation
This is without a doubt my most expensive foundation, by quite a long mile. However, it’s also one of my favourites! I feel like this foundation is really light, but gives kickass coverage and is very perfecting. I’d say the wear time is pretty good, although on my oily t-zone it can go quickly if I don’t powder, but that’s pretty standard! I’d say it wears for about 8 hours before it stops looking as good as when you leave the house.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundations
I’ve lumped these two together as I’m not a huge fan of either for essentially the same reasons. I feel like these are actually quite heavy on the skin and can look quite cakey on me, which even my mum has commented on in the past. When a foundation says “Healthy Mix” I had images of a light foundation, but that’s not what I got. I also don’t think these worked that well with my oily skin, but with dry skin I think these would be pretty good. But because I’m a makeup hoarder, I keep them in case I change my mind (which is unlikely!).

Rimmel Match Perfection
When I’m on the hunt for a really light quite moisturising foundation, I normally reach for this one. I love the finish I get with it, with is like almost a satin finish and the colour is spot on for me (I have the Ivory shade). It’s a light-medium coverage, and it could be buildable to a lovely coverage. I also really like the smell! I can’t identify what it is, but it smells like no other foundation I own. My only bug bare is that if you’re not careful it never really sets properly, so if you touch your face it can get a little streaky. So make sure you set your foundation well, or it might not look that great!

image

Vichy Dermablend Foundation
I love this foundation so much, it got its own blog post. It’s a high coverage foundation, that looks pretty natural (although you can tell you’re wearing foundation). These also feels really light during the day and lasts really well. It says it lasts for 16 hours, and I’ve never worn it that long, but I’d say it could get pretty close to that and still look good.

Skin 79 BB Cream
This isn’t a foundation, but it’s the only BB cream I own so I didn’t want to leave it out of the party! If I’m only popping out, then I’ll always reach for this as it’s quick and does a good job of perfecting the skin although doesn’t cover much. On those lazy days though, I’m not really bothered about coverage per say, more just not looking like a swamp monster just waking up. The wear time is pretty good too, and it has skincare built in, so your skin looks great once you take it off. My only issue is that at first it turns your skin sort of grey, but after a while it changes to a more normal colour and you’re all good to go.

Maybelline Superstay 24hr Foundation
These featured in my recent Disappointing Products post, so I won’t go into too much detail. I found these to be really heavy and quite cakey on me. The colours were also really orangey and ended up oxidising even further which was pretty horrible. As I have combination skin, it clung to my dry patches too. If have oily skin, it might be worth giving this a go as I found it did control my oil well, and it may not be cakey on you! I’d say it gave sort of medium coverage, but I don’t think it would be buildable, as it’s quite thick.

Revlon ColourStay and PhotoReady
I’ve put these two foundations together because I think in some ways they’re pretty similar. They’re both medium coverage, and last for ages. I’d say they’re some of the heaviest feeling on the skin out of my collection, so definitely more “winter” foundations. I don’t think it’s in a horrible way for most of the day, although I’m desperately reaching my cleansing oil by the end of the day, but that goes for most of my foundations! The only difference with the PhotoReady compared to the ColourStay is that there are those “glitter” bits in the PhotoReady (probably has some fancy name) which I find are great for flash photos as it blurs any imperfections. As a result of the glitter, I wouldn’t wear it day to day, more for a night out where there is likely to be a lot of photos.

And that’s my foundation collection. I’m always on the hunt for more foundations, and others have been in my collection but got the boot! I hope you enjoyed reading!

What foundations do you own? Which are your favourites?

Thanks for reading!
Alicia x

16 thoughts on “My Foundation Collection

  1. Arianne says:

    that’s quite the collection. I’ve always wanted to try the Match Perfection, but I have combination skin and I’m worried it’ll be dewy, and the possibility of streaking doesn’t appeal to me.

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Yeah, the streaking can be an issue. But, with a good primer and powder over the top, it’s normally fine. I’d say if you have combination skin, definitely take a powder with you to use during the day, as it can get pretty oily in places (at least on me it can) which can cause it to streak aswell.

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

