Disappointing Products #2

Disappointing Products #2

I’ve made a post about some disappointing products before, but I found it really interesting to do and you guys seemed to like it, so here is the second installment! As the same as my previous post, this is just my opinion and these products may work for you, so I will give honest but fair criticism. That way, you guys might be able to work out if these products would work for you!

Herbal Essences Naked Volume Shampoo and Conditioner

Now, I just use whatever shampoo is in my shower (one of the positives of living at home with my mum) and one day this little combination was sat in the shower. I was intrigued about this, so was happy to give it a go. The first thing I noticed is a horrible smell which, unfortunately, stayed all day. I thought it smelt like toothpast, but my Mum said it smelt like Jelly Babies. Either way, it wasn’t nice! It also made my hair so static and poofy (not in a good way) I stopped using it. But, if you like the smell of Jelly Babies, then you might like this!

Maybelline Superstay 24hr Foundation

I bought this foundation as mine weren’t holding up during the day. I found this to be really heavy and cakey. It is probably also meant for oily skin, which I don’t really have this time of the year, so it just didn’t suit my skin. I also got the completely wrong shade the first time round, and it was so orange it was pretty awful!

Garnier Fructis Flexible Hold Hairspray

Hairspray isn’t something I have a lot of experience with, so I may have been expecting too much, but regardless of that this was so sticky in my hair that I couldn’t bare to use it. I tried to give this a go, but it did not even hold a style in my hair, so it quickly got the boot! I may have been using this wrong (i.e. too much or too close to my hair) so let me know if you’ve tried this.

Benefit Cha Cha Tint

I feel like this may be a tad controversial, but I could not get this product to work for me. I got weird dots of tint on my face that I couldn’t get to blend out – not a good look. I would definitely like some advice if any of you were able to get this to work for you, as I’ve heard good things about it and it made me very sad when I couldn’t get it to work!

Lily LoLo Mineration Foundation

I remember trying this foundation a few years back using a sample, and I loved it. I got the full size a few months later and it was like using another product. The coverage wasn’t there and what was there clung to my dry patches like nothing else. Mineral foundation is something I can’t get to work for me personally, so if you can then you might like this.

Nails Inc Nail Polish In Basil Street

I feel like I can’t really slate this product, as it was free in a magazine, but I expected quite a lot from a product that is normally over £11. The colour is actually really nice and didn’t take many coats to get to the colour in the pot. However, no matter how long I leave it to dry, it’s still wet and smudges like crazy. Again, I might be doing something wrong with, so let me know if you have used it.

Bourjois Little Round Pot Blush

Again, might be controversial but I’m not a massive fan of these blushes. I couldn’t get a whole lot of colour out of this and if I could it would take so long that I’d get bored. I only didn’t think the shade I got did a lot for me, so that might be why I didn’t like it very much.

Babyliss Thermo Ceramic Rollers

I feel horrible putting this in here, as it would a Christmas present last year (or the year before…?) and I was really excited about using it. However, I don’t feel it gave my the curls I expected, although I concede it did give me a lot of volume, which in hindsight is more what this product is meant for. As my hair gets longer and all one length, I may like this product more, but at the moment it’s not something I’ve ever used more than once or twice.

Clean and Clear Advantage Spot Control Moisturiser and Spot Treatment

I used these two products back when I had acne, and I didn’t find them useful at all. They didn’t make a difference to my spots so I ended up binning them and using something else, which cleared them up no problem. Maybe these weren’t meant for the under the skin spots I had, but I would have expected to at least see something.

Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush

This was the first cream blush I used and I think it scarred me for life. After using this product, I got the acne I spoke about in a few previous posts. I had a thought while thinking of writing this post that it may have been an allergic reaction or something, but whatever it was this product did not work me sadly. I have since overcome my cream blush phobia, thank goodness!

Maybelline Babylips in Hydrate

I feel like these were quite hyped by some, but hated by others. I thought for only a few quid, it was worth a shot at least and sadly I joined the “hate” camp. Honestly, I found that the more I used this, the drier my lips became. I feel that my lips continued to suffer from this even after I binned it, and there are much better lip balms for a similar or even cheaper. However, like I said, some people love this, so give it a shot if you’re curious.

That is it for another installment of disappointing products. I hope I didn’t come across as really negative during this post and gave you guys some insight into why these didn’t work for me, but why they might work for you. I hope you enjoyed!

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

8 thoughts on “Disappointing Products #2

  1. Euhnella says:

    I love nails inc but I have the same exact problem with it taking an absolute AGE to dry. If I don’t wait at least 30-45 mins between each coats it will smudge like mad. I’ve wondered if it’s to do with base coats… And omg, with the Maybelline Baby Lips in Hydrate, I thought I was going insane! I was using it regularly and had the driest lips. I put it down to other causes (I have been drinking loads of water as a consequence so I suppose it’s a positive in a way, ha) but it is officially going in the bin for me as well.

    I think disappointing products posts are good, because they let you know that you’re not alone in hating a product! Great post!

    Euhnella x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Maybe, but it never does it with other nail polishes. Maybe I’ll try leaving it a bit longer, I normally just get really impatient! Haha. Oh, I know! It’s awful, isn’t it? Quickly went in the bin

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

  2. itsjustsofie says:

    I’ve tried the maybelline superstay 24hr foundation too and wasn’t very pleased with it either. I think I’ve still got it somewhere though..

  3. blondeamyblog says:

    I agree with Nails Inc. I got the burgundy coloured one also in a magaine & I was so happy as it was on my wishlist anyways. I however had the same problem and for a higher-end nail polish it chipped so easily & I was left so disappointed. Boo hoo! Amy X

Leave a Reply

