My Tips for New Bloggers

image

I’m quite new to blogging myself, but the other day I was asked for my advice to new bloggers the other day and it got me thinking. When you first start a blog, it can be really overwhelming and that’s what put me off from making a blog for such a long time. However, I think if you have the right starting point and some advice, it doesn’t seem too bad. So, here’s my advice for any new bloggers out there, or people unsure of how to go about starting one.

Have the Right Intentions
I know this may be a generalisation, but some new bloggers start a blog hoping for freebies or ‘fame’, but this isn’t the right way to go about things. If that’s all you want to get out of blogging, then it’s not going to last as the effort you have to put in to reach that level is not going to be sustainable as it’s going to feel quite hollow. It’s best to start a blog because you enjoy what you write about and you want to share your interests with people. Or because you want to make new friends, or hope to start a career in a similar field. This way, all the effort you put in will be enjoyable (for the most part) and you’ll have a lot more fun!

Pick the Right Platform
When I started, I chose WordPress as it looked like the easiest way to go about things. You have everything you need and a variety of themes to chose from. You can’t have certain widgets though, such as Google Analytics, but it has its own little stats app instead. It’s best to do a bit of research and see which platform, such as Blogger would be best for you, as you’re going to spend a lot of time looking at it! Also, you could do what I sort of wish I’d done, which is to go self-hosted. This is probably a better option if you’re a bit more tech savvy in terms of HTML and whatnot, but it gives you a lot more freedom that being hosted on another site.

Picking the Name
I don’t know about other bloggers, but picking my blogs name took me the longest out of all the other processes of setting up my blog! In the end, I just picked something really easy, as I couldn’t think of anything else. I’m always really envious of people who have cool sounding blog names. It’s best to give this a lot of thought, as you’ll have to type it and think about it so many times. I think it’s best to think of something that will stand out, as there are so many blogs out there and you want to have something unique.

Social Media
Something that you don’t give much thought to before starting is how much plugging in social media goes along with blogging! I’d say most of what I do goes into tweeting, posting on Facebook or Instagram and so on. It makes such a difference to reader engagement when you have a Twitter account for your blog as it gives people another platform to talk to you and get to know you better! I’d also suggest you sign up to Bloglivin, as most bloggers are on there and it’s a great way to keep up with other posts.

Have Something to Offer
This is a piece of advice that I saw when researching blogging, and I think it’s a good idea. Basically, don’t start plugging (i.e. advertising) until you have a few posts under your belt. The idea is that if you have no posts or one post, then the blog doesn’t look finished and people may think “oh, I’ll come back later”, but forget. If you have a few posts, people can get a better idea of what your posts are like and they are more likely to follow your blog.

Get Involved with Twitter Chats
Twitter chats are a great way to meet other bloggers and it’s something that I highly recommend you do when you start blogging. If you don’t know what a Twitter chat is, it’s basically where you all post using a # and chat with others. For example, one of my favourites is #bbloggers chat, where lots of beauty bloggers chat about all things beauty. It’s a lot of fun, although I doubt my bank account agrees! I’ve met so many lovely bloggers through these chats and it makes the blogging a lot more fun. Everyone is really friendly, so don’t worry about that! Along the same vein of social media, commenting on other blogs is a great way to meet other bloggers and get your own blog ‘out there’. But, comment something meaningful, as comments that are obviously just a plug don’t go down to well with other bloggers. Also, if you comment something meaningful, then people are more likely to visit your own blog too. Plus, it’s just nice to read other blogs! 😀

It’s Just a Number!
Don’t worry yourself about the number of followers you have, or the amount of views you have. Blogging should be fun and getting yourself bogged down in the numbers isn’t a fun way to blog! Every blogger, even Zoella, had to start somewhere. If you put the hard work in, then it will all come good in the end. Just enjoy yourself, that’s what it’s all about!

I hope you enjoyed this post. I could probably go on and on, but I kept it short-ish. What tips would you give to newbie bloggers?

Thanks for reading!
Alicia x

6 thoughts on “My Tips for New Bloggers

  1. Emma Jayne says:

    Hi Alicia

    Thank you for this! I use wordpress too for my blog. It’s pretty easy to use isn’t it?

    I started my blog a few years ago and added content to it every now and then. Now I blog all the time and love it. I have more recently been using social media to get my blog out there – gosh what a difference that has made!! I had no idea when 1st starting my blog that there is so much involved! Now I’m getting more involved in twitter chats.

    I would suggest posting images, as well as written content and about what you love. The trouble is with my blog is that I love lots of things!! i.e. fashion, beauty, interiors, design, baking…..

    I would appreciate it if you could look at my blog http://www.emmajayne-designs.co.uk 🙂

    • LissyBeauty says:

      It’s the easiest I’ve used, it’s great. 🙂 I know, the amount of time I spend on social media is crazy! Ooh, definitely, images pull the whole post together! 😀

      Thanks for reading, I’ll take a look now. 🙂
      Alicia x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      They’re great aren’t they? It’s much fun and is a great way to get your blog out there. It definitely will, I think that’s the best way (other than having good content obviously)! 😀

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

