Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist

image

I never used to really bother with my eyebrows, and when I look at myself now with my eyebrows au naturale I think – how did I go out like that?! My makeup just never looks right to me now without a little something going on in the eyebrow department. Since filling in my eyebrows, I’ve become a bit of an eyebrow product fiend and when I saw the Sleek Eyebrow Stylist in Superdrug for £5.99, I wanted it. I’d heard it was a dupe for the Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil, which is something I really really want to try but it quite a bit more expensive (£20.01 more to be precise). I thought this pencil at a fraction of the price was probably a good place to start!

image

Excuse the eyebrows above (particularly the before) as I still haven’t perfected the art of filling in eyebrows, but it’s getting better! As you can see, the brow pencil itself is an unusual triangle shape, which was a little tricky to get used to. I use the pointer side to draw the outline of my brows and the chunkier straight edge to fill in any sparse areas. I then brush them out with the awesome little spoolie that’s on the other end. I went with the shade Dark as I find the medium shades are always too warm a colour for my eyebrows and it doesn’t look right. You can see from the swatch that it is very pigmented pencil and I find you have to be quite careful as I did end up looking like Groucho Marx the first few times I used it. It’s quite a waxy consistency, which I know some won’t like, but I personally find it easier and quicker to use because of this. The picture above is my eyebrows using no other products but this pencil, but I normally run my Revlon brow gel or the wax from my MUR eyebrow palette through my brows to hold them in place.

I think the pencil gives quite a natural finish when used right and with a light hand. The only issue for me is that when I was using it one time, the pencil snapped off. I manage to pick the bit of pencil up and push it back inside the applicator, but I have to be quite careful with it now. The packaging also leaves a lot to be desired, as there is nothing on it, not even the brand name. However, is it only an eyebrow pencil, so I suppose you might not expect too much in terms of groundbreaking packaging. As I haven’t use the Hourglass product this is supposed to be dupe for, I can’t compare, but I personally really like this product and I think I will repurchase if I run out. However, that’s unlikely to happen as I always like trying new things so I’ll probably never use a whole eyebrow product!

That’s it for my review. What’s your favourite eyebrow product? Have you used the Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Product and is it worth the money?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

7 thoughts on “Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist

  1. Sammy (@Little_Fickle) says:

    How strange that there’s no branding on the packaging! It does look really natural on you though. I tend to like Soap and Glory archery, which is a similar sort of product now I think about it, but worth a look.

    Sammy xo.

    littlefickleblog.blogspot.com

    • LissyBeauty says:

      I was so gutted when it broke, but I can just about get away with it at the moment. Ooh, haven’t heard of that but Maybelline is pretty much always awesome so I’ll give it a little look. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Thank you! 🙂 yeah, it was such a pain, but I can just about use it at the moment but may have to cave and buy another one or a new product.

      Thanks for reading!
      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

