Review: Real Techniques Brushes

IMG_0354.JPG

I feel like everyone and their dog has heard of Real Techniques brushes, and probably read a review on them, too. But, I thought I’d share my thoughts with you guys anyway.

Base Brushes
My personal favourite foundation brush has to be the Expert Face Brush. Before I got it for Christmas last year, I had other foundation brushes but never used them regularly. I find this brush blends my foundation really quickly and easily. It also has been washed loads and it honestly doesn’t look any different and I don’t think I’ve lost any of the hairs (if I have, it’s only been a few!). The Contour brush is also lovely, and I find if I go a little OTT with the blush or bronzer, which happens a lot, it blends it all out with no problem.

The other two brushes, the foundation brush and the detailer brush don’t get much use. The foundation brush occasionally gets used to blend out my under eye concealer, but that’s about it. It does blend out foundation beautifully when I’ve used it before, but it takes an absolute age, and ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat.

Face Brushes
The pink handled brushes are next, and these are some of my favourites too. These both get a lot of use. The powder brush is one of the softest brushes I have ever felt in my life. It applies blush and bronzer so easily and always leaves a lovely finish. The only thing it’s not good for is blending out blush or bronzer, but that’s what I use the contour brush for anyway, so it’s all good. The stippling brush gets used a lot for cream blushes, and blends them out really easily and seamlessly. The brush has reduced my fear of cream products and I am forever thankful!

IMG_0446.PNG

Eye Brushes
The shader brush, the one second from the right in the middle picture above was the first Real Techniques brush I ever bought. It’s great for creating a smokey eye which I use it for a lot, to add a darker colour to the outer edge of my eye and into the crease. The others were all part of a set and a couple, such as the thin liner brush and the little detailer brush (third from the right), don’t get much use. I can imagine for some people they would, as I bet the liner brush is great for gel liner, and the little detailer brush could make a good lip brush.

The first brush on the right is a new favourite eye brush, and I find it’s great for adding shading to the crease. I normally use a matte light brown to add a bit of dimension to my eye when doing almost all my eye looks, as it seems to make it look a bit better. The slanted liner brush, first on the left, is also a lovely brush and has been used a lot to do my eyebrows since I got the Make Up Revolution eyebrow kit. also have been liking the third brush from the left to apply a wash of colour to the lid, but I wouldn’t say it was a favourite brush to use for it.

And that’s it for my review of my Real Techniques brushes. As you can see, some of these brushes are holy grail brushes, some are a little bit neglected. However, all in all I would recommend these brushes, as they’re great quality and affordable. I also personally like the styling of the brushes, although I know a few people who really don’t!

I hope you enjoyed reading. What are your favourite brushes?

Thanks for reading!

Alicia x

18 thoughts on “Review: Real Techniques Brushes

Leave a Reply

