Disappointing Products!

49730240c4d43b6707e7db63fc5ad963

I try not to be a negative nancy most of the time, but when you buy into the hype of a product, it’s hard not to be a tad peeved when it doesn’t make you look like Blake Lively. I kid about the Blake Lively part, there’s no product on the planet that could do that, unfortunately! But, it’s still pretty annoying. So, I thought I’d share with you guys disappointing products that I have purchased over the last few years of being a makeup addict. DISCLAIMER: These products are hyped for a reason, some people love these products and you may to, so don’t just take my word for it!

1. Rimmel Apocalips in Celestial

So this is a product that sounded awesome, a liquid lipstick that would stay on all day. Fantastic. But I found this to be gloopy, the colours looked odd and it didn’t last 5 minutes on me. Bit of a fail!

2. Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation

Now this one might be controversial, but I really disliked this foundation. When I think of a serum foundation, I imagine lightweight and natural coverage, but this looked so heavy on my skin and made it feel greasy almost. It wasn’t nice to wear so I threw it away!

3. Soap and Glory Show Good Face 2 in 1 Foundation and Primer

I love 2 in 1 products, as I like things to be quick. This was maybe, just maybe, one of the worst foundations I’ve tried. My Mum asked me what was wrong with my face when I wore this the first time. Not normally a good sign! She said it looked like a mask and that it made my skin look worse than it does normally!

4. Soap and Glory Trick and Treatment Dark Circle Concealer

The prospect of a product that not only covers my dark circles but treats them was like the angels came down from heaven. But this was more like the devil in disguise. It didn’t cover my dark circles and, admittedly, I didn’t use it long enough to see if it treated them either. It was full of sparkle, so I looked like Edward Cullen, and I hate Twilight, so this was not a plus point!

5. Batiste Dry Shampoo

I feel like this is the first product many people have come to mind when they think dry shampoo. So did I, but this product just didn’t do its job in my opinion. My hair was still greasy after using it, and it just felt limp and heavy with product. I much prefer my Tresemme Instant Refresh Dry Shampoo.

6. La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo [+]

This was such a fail product, it got a whole blog post to itself. It just did nothing for me but turn my face into a pizza. While I love pizza, I don’t exactly want my face looking like one!

7. Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer

This also got half a blog post, comparing it to Benefit Porefessional, and it wasn’t a hit with me. It didn’t make my pores look smaller, and turned my face into a big oily mess.

8. Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I know this again might be a shock, but I really did not like this foundation. I again thought light and lovley, but I got heavy and greasy. Ew.

9. Rimmel  Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Hazel

I feel like this was everywhere when I bought it. It was dubbed the colour for everyone and that sounded awesome. It could have been, if I got any colour out of this pencil whatsoever. It was so hard I hurt my hand trying to get colour out of it and on to the back of my hand. It didnt last long in my make up collection!

10. Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Liner

Again, a product raved about, said it was so easy even newbies like me could use it. Great, I thought! But I couldn’t get this to work for me. It looked dodgy and patchy. Maybe I was using it wrong, who knows!

And the rants are over! Let me know if you had similar, or different, experiences of these products and what would make your disappointing products list.

Alicia x

20 thoughts on “Disappointing Products!

  1. Alice says:

    I’m really not a fan of the Batiste dry shampoo either, it always lets me down when I really need it! I might have to give the Tresemme one a go 🙂
    Alice x
    slowlymendingme.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Laura Atkins says:

    I was going to buy that Bourjois foundation – glad I didn’t know as my skin is oily enough haha!

    Also, I have nominated you for the Liebster award. Check it out here on my blog 🙂 – lmatkins.blogspot.co.uk

    xx

  3. Amber says:

    Thank you for including batiste! I thought I was the only one! I truly hate it, such a waste of money! I discovered superdrugs own brand dry shampoo omg most amazing thing for my hair ever! Gives it lift and looks amazzzzing 🙂 thanks for linking and chatting in the social bloggers chat xo

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Oo, I thought I was the only one too! It just did nothing for me. I haven’t tried that one, so it’s next on the list! 🙂 That’s okay, it was a great chat!

      Alicia x

  4. Sophie Blackwell says:

    Omg you have 4 of my all-time favourite products on this list! Can’t believe Apocalips didn’t last long on you! It’s the best lipgloss I’ve found for long-lasting colour! I also love Bourjois Healthy Mix but it’s not great if you’re not a fan of dewy complexions. It’s a great dupe for chanel and clinique though! xx

    Sophie/ http://www.prettyandpolished.co.uk

Leave a Reply

