My Top Ten Films

photoI can’t begin to tell you how hard this post was to write! I love films and narrowing it down to 10 was really difficult, and don’t even ask how long it took me to order them either!

  1. Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983)
  2. Alien (1979)
  3. Monty Python and The Holy Grail (1975)
  4. The Thing (1982)
  5. Shawshank Redemption (1994)
  6. Wall-E (2008)
  7. Silence of the Lambs (1991)
  8. The Shining (1980)
  9. Full Metal Jacket (1987)
  10. Green Mile (1999)

As you can probably tell from the list, I’m more a fan of older movies. Give me an 80’s film, particularly Sci-Fi, and I’m a happy lady! I grew up watching Star Wars most weekends, as my Dad was a big fan. So naturally, that had to be on the list! I’m not as much of a fan of the newer Star Wars films and god knows what the new ones will be like, but I wait with bated breath.

Alien is another parent-inspired love. I watched it with my Mum for the first time a few years a go and thought it was awesome. I like the sequel Aliens too, but just putting one down kinda covers it! The basic story of Alien is that a ship responds to a distress beacon from another ship, but when they land, one of their crew comes back onto the ship with ‘something’ attached to his face. Then chaos ensues!

Now on to a classic and a movie that is not suprising to find on a British bloggers list – Monty Python and the Holy Grail. This film basically follows the “Knights of The Round Table” on their quest the Holy Grail. I can’t explain my love for this film in words, and I could quote this film until I’m blue in the face, so it easily made its way on to the list.

The Thing is such an awesome film and if you haven’t seen it, you need to! The basic storyline is that a group of American scientists in the Antartic come into contact with a parasitic alien that takes over a host and imitates them. What I love most about this movie, and all older movies, is the lack of computers involved in what you see. Anything in this film that isn’t human is animatronics, and that to me is the coolest thing ever. Like in Alien, the alien is actually a guy in a costume, but that to me makes these films even more impressive than newer films, as you can see the imagination and creativity that’s gone into them.

Shawshank Redemption is another classic, and for good reason. It’s a film I don’t think I’d ever get sick of watching. Firstly, Morgan Freeman. Need I say more? Secondly, the storyline is awesome and at times heartbreaking but it’s, weirdly, quite an uplifting film. The basic storyline is that a man has been accused of killing his wife and her lover, so is sent to Shawshank prison and this film follows his time there.

Wall-E is my all time favourite Pixar movie. Yup, I said it. My favourite. I even quoted Andrew Stanton, the director, in one of my essays at University. Total cool kid over here. It’s such a sweet film, and I get a little emotional every time I watch it. Doesn’t everyone…? Just me? Oh. The basic storyline of this film is that Earth has become so toxic that humans can no longer live there, so they’ve gone to space while lots of little Wall-Es try to clean it up.

From Wall-E to Silence of the Lambs, bit of a strange transition! I love all of the Hannibal series, even Hannibal Rising (although that’s mainly because of Gaspard Ulliel), but this one is the first I saw and it started off the love of films like this. The basic storyline is that Clarice Starling is trying to find Buffalo Bill, a serial killer, and needs the help of Hannibal Lecter, a serial killer that is incredibly intelligent. Anthony Hopkins is a fantastic actor and that particularly shows in this film. Although, I remember watching the film the other day and everytime Jodie Foster appeared the song “My Name Is Tallulah” from Bugsy Malone went through my head. I couldn’t help chuckling the whole time.

I feel like the Shining being on my list is self-explanatory, but I’ll say this: it’s awesome. The basic storyline is that a family have been asked to look after the Overlook Hotel during the winter and it’s a pretty creepy place, and Jack Torrance, the father, goes a little cray. The music is without a doubt what makes this film as scary as it is. So if you do get scared while watching, turn the sound off and you’ll be fine (although maybe a little confused about what’s going on)!

Full Metal Jacket follows the story of Private ‘Joker’ who witnesses the practices of the US army while preparing Soldiers to go to Vietnam and shows his experiences while he’s out there. It’s a pretty depressing film in all honesty, but has funny parts too. It’s a brilliant film so go and watch it if you haven’t!

And finally, but certainly not least, is the Green Mile. This film always makes me cry, always. It follows the story of death row, or as the prison guards call it, the Green Mile due to the colour of the flooring. It follows in particular one inmate who is charged with the murder of two little girls, but it turns out there’s a lot more to it than that. If you feel like having a good cry, this is the film for you. Watching this is, in my opinion, one of those life experiences you need to have!

Phew, long post! Hope you enjoyed reading and I’d love to know what films would make your top 10!

Alicia x

2 thoughts on “My Top Ten Films

  1. Elif says:

    I’ve seen 5,6,10 and a bit of 7 (I say a bit because I watched it but I don’t remember the movie as a whole.. quite weird. I’m going to rewatch it soon though). I’ll be giving the others a try, seems like an amazing list. I tried watching The Shining once but I’m a baby when it comes to thrillers so I couldn’t do it :/

Leave a Reply

