Living Well One Line A Day

20140726-155443-57283053.jpg

I was strolling around Waterstones yesterday waiting for my mum to pick me up, and this little book caught my eye. The basic idea is that you write a sentence each day about something that happened or was said that made you happy, every day over a five year period. I’d never heard of anything similar to this, but it sounded like a great idea in our busy lives to sit down and write something happy down.

20140726-160325-57805359.jpg

As you keep it for 5 years you can look back and see what happened each day and if you have a bad day, you can look through and see what your grateful for. I know after a hard day I have trouble seeing any good in the day I’ve had, but it is there somewhere and writing this line a day brings your attention to it. I used to keep journals when I was younger, and this is a similar idea, and as it is only one line, there are no excuses for not doing it!

Inside the book, there are lots of suggestions of the types of things you can write about. For example, you can identify something you’ve learnt, a conversation you overheard that brightened your day, acknowledge your struggles but identify what helped you, consider your need to let go (something I struggle with) and so on.

I’m making a commitment here in writing on my blog that I will do this ‘challenge’. If you’d like to see regular updates for what I write about, let me know and I’d be happy to share it with you guys!

Would you guys like to do something similar to this? Do you think it would help you?

Alicia x

12 thoughts on “Living Well One Line A Day

  1. Alice Megan says:

    I currently have a similar 5 year journal which asks a question each day and you fill it in for five years to see how your answers change and I love it! This one looks lovely though as you can write whatever you want 🙂

  2. Sophie says:

    This seems like a great idea, I always try to keep a journal but always end up forgetting. Hopefully if I only had to write a line I’d be able to write in it everyday!

Leave a Reply

