Book Review: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

20140716-122011-44411441.jpg This is a new type of post for my blog, but once I finished this book, I knew I wanted to do a post about it. The book is The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. I’d heard about it but wasn’t all that fussed to start off with. But I was walking about WHSmith’s looking for some books for my holiday and I picked up two thinking they were both on offer. Turned out one wasn’t, so I rushed back to find another book to buy and this one caught my eye. I picked it up, bought it and started reading it during my lunch break at work. I couldn’t put it down once I’d started.

The Goldfinch follows the story of Theodore Decker, starting off with him in a hotel in Amsterdam, but you’re unsure how he’s ended up there. It then goes back to when he is younger and has just been suspended from school after a rocky patch that started after his Father had walked out on him and his Mother. Very sad, and some times very unexpected, events ensue and the book has so many twists and turns you wonder when it will end for poor Theo. It all revolves around the Goldfinch painting and how events to do with this painting result in Theo becoming involved in the criminal underworld. While this book is sad at times, in the same way it is oddly uplifting. The moral of the story is that whatever you want to be is okay, and that forcing yourself to be someone you’re not isn’t a good way to live your life. Taking that step and saying this is who you are can be difficult, but it is worth it in end. I would highly recommend this book, so if you’ve been looking for a new book to read, look no further!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Leave a Reply

