Make Up Revolution Haul: First Impressions and Swatches

20140716-163308-59588028.jpg If you’re a regular beauty blog reader, you may be sick to the back teeth of hearing about Make Up Revolution. If so, I apologise for not helping your current situation, but I just couldn’t help placing my own order with Make Up Revolution! Quite a big order in fact. So, if you’re not about to vomit at the sight of another Make Up Revolution post and want to see what I bought, here’s my haul. Hope you enjoy (and apologises for any ill health you may have suffered as a result of this post)!

I’m going to start with the palettes I bought. The first one I’ll talk about is the Ultra Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice, which retails for £6. £6 for six blushes, that are all highly pigmented, as you can see from the swatches; what more could you want? The packaging is something I was also super impressed with for all the products I bought, which is sleek and looks more expensive than it is!

20140716-164014-60014696.jpg
Bottom Left: Top Row. Bottom Right: Bottom Row.

The next palette in the spotlight is the Ultra Cover Palette in Light, which was £6. These cream concealers blend really easily and cover quite well. There’s a salmon coloured concealer that is great for covering the under eye area and I never have to worry about not having a concealer that matches my level of ‘tan’ on a particular day.

20140716-164901-60541990.jpg

The final palette I bought was Ultra 32 Shade Eyeshadow Palette in Flawless. This palette was only £8, which for 32 eyeshadows is amazing. The pigmentation is lovely and they last a long time, although on me they do crease, but that’s to be expected with my oily eyelids. They blend well and while some are a bit chalky, mainly the matte shades, and there’s some fall out, it’s still a great deal for £8!

20140716-194339-71019573.jpg
20140716-165613-60973222.jpg
First Picture: Paper (which you can only just see), Soft Glow, Buff, Highlite, Angel, Unlimited, Brew and Silver Smoke. Second Picture: Almost There, Uncover, Barely Pink, Lowlite, Golden Night, Gold Digger, Cheerless and Blue Stars. Third Picture: Smudge, Shimmer Heart, Universal, Copper Shimmer, Medal, Darkest Shimmer, Tarnish and Black Tie. Fourth Picture: Pure Chocolate, Raw, Red Night, Molton Chocolate, Burgandy Nights, GreenStars, Cafe Noir and Night.

Phew, a lot of shadows. I have to say when I first saw this, I thought it was a lot smaller than I was expecting. I thought it would be some huge palette, but it wasn’t much bigger than the other two palettes I bought. All the swatches above are with one swipe so you can see that most of the shadows have great pigmentation. Some of them made me go “oooh” when I swatched them, particularly Black Tie as I wasn’t expecting it to be all that pigmented, but it was lovely. Red Night was another one I loved when I swatched it. There are so many colours in this palette that I’ve never owned but always wanted to, so a palette like this is a great way to get experimenting with different looks.

20140716-195746-71866709.jpg

On from the palettes now and onto the lip products. I normally can’t pass up lip products from any line, so when lipsticks are £1, they’re going in my basket. I bought three matte lipsticks from the Amazing Lipstick line; Beloved, Divine and Dare. I share the opinion of other bloggers that the packaging does feel a bit cheap, but it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. I have to say I wasn’t all that impressed to start off with as Beloved and Divine aren’t that pigmented, and it took a while to get any colour out, but Dare was lovely. The other two are more a sheer wash of colour, which will be great for every day.

20140716-195933-71973643.jpg

I also bought a Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer in You Took My Love for £3. When I first opened my package and saw this I was like “Holy crap, that’s bright” and I wasn’t wrong! It is a pretty full on colour on the lips and when I first put it on I found it to be quite sticky but once it dried it had a velvet finish (strange that!) and felt lovely. Once it was dried you could tell the staying power was going to be awesome and it took quite a while to remove, and got quite messy! I looked like some sort of cannibal or something (not a good look)!

20140716-200702-72422789.jpg

I’ve become a bit of an eyebrow nut in the past few months. It’s become an essential step in my daily makeup routine. So when I saw this palette for £2.50 that has been compared to the HD Brow palette, I definitely wanted to give it a try. I used this the following day and I was quite impressed. The powder looked natural and the wax was awesome, as it held even my unruly brows in place all day. It also comes with its own little brush that I haven’t used yet and a little set of tweezers. It’s an awesome little set which I would highly recommend!

20140716-201141-72701683.jpg

Now I may look like some sort of crazy lady as I bought 8 blushes in this order, the palette I mentioned before and now these two cream blushes. I’m sure there is an excuse for this, but I can’t think of one, other than look at how pretty these are! I got Peach Cream (on the left) and Rose Cream (on the right). These are highly pigmented blushes that are really creamy and glide on the skin. I wore the Peach Cream the other day and it was so lovely. People complimented me on my skin all day when I wore this due to the healthy glow it gave me. The staying power was impressive as well, easily lasting through my day at work. I would highly recommend these blushes also, especially as they’re only £1.50 each.

And that’s it folks. It feels like it was a lot of stuff and it probably is, but all in all it was pretty inexpensive for the amount of stuff I got. I will be ordering more things from Make Up Revolution, such as more of the lip lacquers as they’re lovely. Hope you enjoyed reading.

Let me know if you’ve bought anything from Make Up Revolution and what your thoughts were!

Alicia x

4 thoughts on “Make Up Revolution Haul: First Impressions and Swatches

  1. Velvet Blush says:

    Love your haul! The concealer palette looks really interesting, I’ve been looking for a possible correcter dupe as well. The blushes are lovely, I’m a sucker for cream blush and I love those shades you’ve picked 🙂

    • LissyBeauty says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you liked it! 😀 the blushes are really good, super pigmented as I found out today when I was a bit heavy handed with one! It blended out okay though, haha.

      Alicia x

Leave a Reply

