How I Beat Acne

I was incredibly lucky as a teenager. I got the odd spot, but nothing major. I thought “Great, I missed all the spots!”. But, during my second year of University, I got a ‘mild’ acne breakout. I say ‘mild’ as to some it would have been bearable, almost laughable, but to me it was awful. I had 6 huge ‘under the skin’ spots on one side of my face and two on the other that took a good year to clear. I also got lots of little bumps all over my face and many standard whiteheads. Now, going from clear skin to this so quickly was pretty devastating. That probably sounds a bit dramatic, I admit, but it was a shock. So, I thought I’d share with you how I got my skin back to almost what it used to (bar a bit of hyper pigmentation, but I’m working on that).

Now, disclaimer time. I am in no way a Dermatologist, nor do I know why or how this set of products worked. Also, even though I had these spots, I had dry skin, not oily skin, so most products that may work for someone with oily skin made my skin worse. However, you may be able to learn something from this post, and if you do, then that’s okay with me!

So, as I said, I have dry skin with a few rogue oily patches, which was the same at the time I got acne. I used your standard acne fighting products, and my acne got worse as my skin was even drier and sensitive. It took a while to find a cleanser that worked my skin type, but eventually I did. I used the Eucerin DermoPurifyer Cleanser (£9.50 from Boots) which balanced my skin’s pH, calmed it down, but also worked to get rid the acne. Then I’d tone using the Boots Botanics 100% Organic Rosewater Toning Spritz (£4.99 at Boots but normally on offer). After cleansing and toning, I’d use the Neutrogena’s Visibily Clear Oil Free Moisturiser (£4.99 from Boots, sometimes it’s 2 for £5). This has ingredients in it that, apparently, control oil and fights spots but it also works to reduce the hyper pigmentation left behind.

To really kick the acne’s butt, I used Quinoderm 10% Cream (£2.65 from Boots). Now, this stuff was harsh as it has 10% Benzoyl Peroxide and 0.5% Potassium Hydroxyquinoline Sulphate (apparently it is antibacterial!). This did dry out the area around my spots quite badly, but it did make a difference within a week or so after applying twice a day. It made my makeup around the spots look really nasty, but in all honestly I didn’t care as I wanted the acne gone. Within about six weeks of using these products, my acne was almost gone. The only thing I had left was small bumps from the big under the skin spots and some hyper pigmentation. I carried on using this products for about sixth months, after which, I had no acne anymore. I, touch wood, haven’t had acne since either and my hyper pigmentation is pretty much gone.

I don’t know your individual skin types, but if you are struggling with acne, it may be worth giving these products a shot. I hope this helps some of you as I know how horrible it is to have acne.

I hope you enjoyed reading, have a wonderful rest of your day!

– Alicia

Leave a Reply

