Comparison: Benefit Porefessional Primer vs Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser

20140615-192331-69811525.jpg Some of my biggest skin hang ups are my big pores and oily t-zone. I’d heard the Benefit Porefessional Primer is good at reducing pore size and controlling oil. I saw a little tester set of various Benefit products at Boots which had a sample of the primer. Another product that caught my eye was the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser, which had been said to be a dupe for the Benefit primer. To see what the deal was, I tried each for a few weeks at a time, and below are my thoughts.

Let’s start with bad and end on a high. The Maybelline primer sounded brilliant and it was only £8. But, it made my skin into an oil slick so big Green Peace were concerned and it made foundation so unpleasant to wear. I also began breaking out in spots left, right and centre. I couldn’t make it the few weeks of testing so stopped using it after about a week. I will definitely not be repurchasing this product.

Now, on to the positives. I really liked the way my foundation looked when paired with the Benefit primer. It made my skin look smoother and my foundation just glided over the top of it. Due to my oiliness, I had issues making my foundation last, and this helped massively as it did a good job of controlling my oil. The full size is £24.50, and while this may seem a lot, it will last a long time as I still haven’t finished my sample and I’ve used it most days for the past six weeks. This is definitely a product I will be repurchasing when I (finally) run out.

Now, as I will always say at the end of my reviews, this is just my personal opinion and I know some people love the Maybelline primer, it just didn’t work for me.

Hope you enjoyed reading, enjoy the rest of your day!

– Alicia

2 thoughts on “Comparison: Benefit Porefessional Primer vs Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser

  1. Erika says:

    Agree! I recommended the Maybelline product in my May favorites, but after the last month of using it, I am going to have to recant because the Porefessional is just 100x better!

Leave a Reply

