Review: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo [+]

La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo review If you’ve ever read a beauty blog or watched a beauty guru on YouTube, you would have heard of this product. La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo [+] aims to minimise acne scars, prevent new hyper pigmentation before it forms, refine skin texture, unclog pores and the list goes on. It is a product that has quickly become one of the best selling skincare products, and has been raved about in the beauty community.

I got sucked into the hype of this product and thought it would be perfect for my hyper pigmentation left behind by a bout of acne during university. I bought it from Boots for £15.50 and I started using it in place of my moisturiser.

I used it for a few weeks, and I have to say, I was very disappointed with this product. The only differences I saw were massive pores and I broke out in new spots every day. Now, I know some products you have to get through that ‘stage’ of getting spots, but I got way more than I was willing to put up with. Moreover, before using this product, I couldn’t remember the last time I had a spot, as luckily my skin had improved a lot since the acne at university.

This product also made some parts of my skin more oily, while giving me dry patches in other places. I had to use another moisturiser over the top of it, which I hoped would calm my skin down. It says on their website that it may be the case that you would need to use another moisturiser, so I had been pre-warned about possible side-effect. I started pairing it with Neutrogena’s Visibly Clear Oil Free Moisturiser which I had been using before and had really enjoyed using. However, even using another moisturiser did not seem to help. Furthermore, my scars did not get lighter and I had ended up with more scars due to the spots I had got from using this product.

I have not used this product for a month or so now and my skin has finally calmed down. I want to stress this next point; this is just my personal experience of using this product. I know many other people who regard this as a holy grail product so this moisturiser may work wonders for you as well, but for me, I was not at all impressed.

Hope you enjoyed reading, enjoy the rest of your day!

– Alicia

Leave a Reply

